2012 Best of the Net Anthology Released

Sundress Publications is pleased to announce the release of the 2012 edition of the Best of the Net anthology! This year’s anthology includes poetry, fiction, and nonfiction published in twenty-four different journals and features work by Eduardo C. Corral, Matt Hart, Saeed Jones, Alix Ohlin, Ocean Vuong, Marcus Wicker, Wendy Xu, and many more!

This year’s judges included poet Marilyn Kallet, fiction-writer John McManus, and memoirist & novelist, Lee Martin.

Marilyn Kallet is the author of 15 books, including Packing Light: New and Selected Poems (Black Widow Press, 2009). Her next book of poems, The Love That Moves Me, was published early in 2013. She has translated Paul Eluard’s Last Love Poems and Surrealist Benjamin PŽret’s The Big Game. In 2005, Kallet was inducted into the East Tennessee Literary Hall of Fame in Poetry. She has won the Tennessee Arts Commission Literary Fellowship in Poetry, and has served as a literary arts advisor to the TAC. Dr. Kallet is Director of the Creative Writing Program at the University of Tennessee, where she is also Professor of English. She also teaches poetry workshops for the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts, in Auvillar, France.

John McManus is the author of the novel Bitter Milk (2005) and the short story collections Born on a Train (2003) and Stop Breakin Down (2000), all published by Picador USA. In 2000 he became the youngest-ever winner of the Whiting Writers’ Award following the publication of Stop Breakin Down. His fiction and non-fiction have also appeared in Ploughshares, Tin House, American Short Fiction, The Oxford American, The Harvard Review, StorySouth, Columbia, Paraphilia, and Night Train, as well as the fiction anthologies Surreal South ’09, Surreal South ’11, and Degrees of Elevation. His writing fellowships and awards include the New Writing Award from the Fellowship of Southern Writers and the James A. Michener fellowship at the University of Texas, where he earned his MFA in 2004. McManus is a professor of creative writing at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, and he also teaches in the low-residency MFA program at Goddard College in Vermont. He is contributing editor for Fiddleblack, a literary journal dedicated to creative writing with a strong sense of place.

Lee Martin is the author of the novels, The Bright Forever, a finalist for the 2006 Pulitzer Prize in Fiction; River of Heaven; Quakertown; and Break the Skin. He has also published three memoirs, From Our House, Turning Bones and Such a Life. His first book was the short story collection, The Least You Need To Know. He is the co-editor of Passing the Word: Writers on Their Mentors. His fiction and nonfiction have appeared in such places as Harper’s, Ms., Creative Nonfiction, The Georgia Review, The Kenyon Review, Fourth Genre, River Teeth, The Southern Review, Prairie Schooner, and Glimmer Train. He is the winner of the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the Ohio Arts Council. He teaches in the MFA Program at The Ohio State University, where he was the winner of the 2006 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching.

You can read the newest edition of the anthology online at http://www.sundresspublications.com/bestof.